ToolRouter pricing updated 7 October 2026: paid calls have a $0.01 minimum. Competitor prices retain their stated check dates.
Five products aim at the OpenRouter-for-tools shape — ToolRouter, Monid, ToolRoute.ai, Composio and Arcade — and this page compares their catalog size, connection method and entry price with every figure quoted from the company's own live page on 4 September 2026. Where a company does not publish a number, the cell says so rather than guessing.
If you only want the definition rather than the comparison, is ToolRouter the OpenRouter for tools? answers that in one sentence.
Name collision. toolrouter.ai and toolroute.ai are different companies from ToolRouter at toolrouter.com. Composio's Sessions feature was historically branded "Tool Router" and is not ToolRouter. OpenRouter routes models, not tools.
Side by side
| ToolRouter | Monid | ToolRoute.ai | Composio | Arcade | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Own headline | "The OpenRouter for tools" | "Connect your agent to every tool it needs." | "One API key. Every tool." | "Everything your agents need to take action" | "Ship agents. Not auth infrastructure." |
| Catalog size (their number) | 254 tools, 1,345 skills | "1,700 tools & APIs" across "55+ providers" | "70+ best-in-class tools for AI agents" | "1,500+ integrations" (homepage); "1500+ toolkits" (pricing page) | Not stated on the pricing page |
| Connect by | Hosted MCP, CLI, REST | Skill, remote MCP (https://mcp.monid.ai/v1), CLI (@monid-ai/cli), HTTP API, OAuth 2.0 | Unified API | Managed SaaS connectors, OAuth, triggers, Sessions | Auth runtime plus MCP |
| Entry price | Free tools stay free; paid tools from $0.01 per call | "$0.0013" per call, "$1 in free credit" | Free $0/mo (100 requests/day) | Free $0/mo (100K tool calls/mo, 3 team members, 7-day log retention) | Free $0/mo (2,000 auth events/mo, 2,000 tool calls/mo) |
| Paid tier | Lite $9/mo; Plus $19/mo (both optional) | Not stated as a subscription — pay per call | Pro $29/mo (10,000 requests/mo); Enterprise $299/mo (100,000 requests/mo) | Pro $29/mo (unlimited members, 30-day log retention, $0.0003 per tool call over quota); Enterprise custom | Team $25/mo + usage (auth events $0.10 each, tool calls $0.01 each); Enterprise custom |
| Deployment | Hosted only | Hosted — remote MCP at https://mcp.monid.ai/v1; no self-host option stated | Hosted — "One unified API"; no self-host option stated | Not stated on the pages checked | "Fully managed on Arcade Cloud" (Free/Team); "Arcade Cloud, in your VPC, or fully air-gapped" (Enterprise) |
Checked on 4 September 2026 at monid.ai and docs.monid.ai, toolroute.ai, composio.dev and composio.dev/pricing, and arcade.dev and arcade.dev/pricing. ToolRouter figures from toolrouter.com/pricing.
Do not read the price row as like-for-like. A ToolRouter paid call, a Monid call, a ToolRoute request, a Composio tool call and an Arcade auth event are five different units of work. Compare what one finished job costs on each, not the headline per-unit number.
What we left out
Facts we could not verify on a live public page today are absent rather than estimated:
- Monid's tool count on its own documentation site — the docs say only "The catalog grows every single day."
- Whether Monid describes itself as "OpenRouter for agent tools" on its own site — that phrasing appears in third-party coverage, not on monid.ai.
- Arcade's tool or integration count — not stated on the pricing page.
- Any claim about uptime, latency, model quality, or funding for any company on this list.
How to choose
Pick ToolRouter when the agent should do specialist jobs in chat — SEO audits, scraping, image and video generation, research, live web data — from one hosted MCP catalog that works with Claude, ChatGPT, Cursor, VS Code, Gemini CLI, Grok and Windsurf, with free tools that run before you claim an account.
Pick Monid when you want the largest stated count of tools and APIs behind one per-call balance.
Pick ToolRoute.ai when a fixed monthly request quota suits your usage better than per-call billing.
Pick Composio when the agent must log into a long tail of SaaS apps with managed OAuth and triggers. See ToolRouter vs Composio.
Pick Arcade when each end user must authorize their own accounts and you need a per-user auth runtime, or when you need VPC or air-gapped deployment. See ToolRouter vs Arcade.
Related
- Is ToolRouter the OpenRouter for tools? — the disambiguation page
- Compare hub — every ToolRouter head-to-head
- ToolRouter vs OpenRouter — OpenRouter routes models; ToolRouter routes tools