Monid and ToolRouter both put many agent tools behind one account and one balance; Monid offers breadth — "1700+ Tools across 55+ providers" — while ToolRouter hosts and maintains 254 specialist tools and 1,345 skills as of 3 September 2026, each with a published schema, examples and changelog, and does not charge for a paid call that fails. If you are choosing between them, the question is whether you want the widest catalog or a smaller one with a maintained contract per tool.
Checked on 5 September 2026. Every Monid figure below is quoted from monid.ai as it read that day. ToolRouter figures come from toolrouter.com/pricing and the catalog count published on 3 September 2026.
What Monid says about itself
Monid's homepage leads with "Connect your agent to every tool it needs" and "Tell your agent what to do. It picks the tools itself." It states "1700+ Tools across 55+ providers", "1 balance For every tool, every provider", "$0.0013" as its per-call figure "debited from one balance", "We killed the subscriptions", "Pay only for the calls your agent makes", and "Start with $1 in free credit". It offers three connection methods: Skill, MCP and CLI.
That is a genuinely good pitch, and the shape is the same as ToolRouter's: one connection, one balance, no per-provider API keys, no subscription required.
Where the two actually differ
Both route to upstream providers — ToolRouter publishes 24 provider pages of its own. The difference is what sits in front of them. Monid's per-call figure is a routing fee on top of whatever the underlying provider charges, and the tool you call is the provider's API. A ToolRouter tool is a maintained product on top of one or more providers: a versioned input schema, worked examples, a changelog, a normalized response and a typed error with a stable machine-readable code, so an agent branches on the code rather than on each provider's own dialect. A paid call that fails is not charged at all.
The second difference is context cost. ToolRouter exposes a fixed 47-tool MCP surface — a measured 9,286 tokens at connect time — with discover and use_tool reaching the rest of the catalog, so a catalog of 254 or 2,540 tools costs the agent the same at connect. See the schema-weight benchmark for the method and raw data. No equivalent published measurement for Monid was found on 5 September 2026.
Monid vs ToolRouter
| ToolRouter | Monid | |
|---|---|---|
| Catalog | 254 tools, 1,345 skills (3 September 2026) | "1700+ Tools across 55+ providers" (5 September 2026) |
| What a "tool" is | A maintained ToolRouter tool over one or more providers: versioned schema, examples, changelog, normalized response and typed errors | An upstream provider API, reached through Monid |
| Headline price | Free tools free; a paid call is the tool's price plus a flat $0.005 platform fee, so from $0.005 | "$0.0013" per call, "debited from one balance" |
| Failed calls | A failed paid call is not charged | Not stated on the page checked |
| Subscriptions | Not required; optional Lite $9/mo, Plus $19/mo including credits | "We killed the subscriptions" |
| Free start | Free tools work with no sign-up; an anonymous account is provisioned on first connect | "Start with $1 in free credit" |
| Connection methods | MCP (remote HTTP and stdio), REST, CLI | Skill, MCP, CLI |
| Connect-time context | Fixed 47-tool surface, 9,286 tokens measured | Not published on the page checked |
| Bring your own key | Supported where a tool allows it | Not stated on the page checked |
Rows marked "not stated on the page checked" are gaps in what Monid publishes, not claims that the feature is absent. Check monid.ai before deciding.
When Monid is the better choice
Pick Monid if you want the widest possible set of third-party APIs behind one balance and the per-call routing fee is the number that matters most to you. 1,700 tools across 55 providers is more surface area than ToolRouter's 254, and ToolRouter does not claim otherwise.
Pick ToolRouter if you would rather have fewer tools with a maintained contract each: a published schema and changelog per tool, normalized results and typed errors, no charge when a paid call fails, a measured and constant context cost, and free tools that work before you have an account at all.
Monid alternative FAQ
Is Monid cheaper than ToolRouter?
Its headline routing figure is lower — "$0.0013" against ToolRouter's $0.005 flat platform fee per paid call. Neither number is the total: both sit on top of whatever the underlying work costs, and ToolRouter does not bill a paid call that fails. Compare the total for the specific tools you will actually call, not the headline.
Does ToolRouter have as many tools as Monid?
No. Monid states 1,700+ tools across 55+ providers; ToolRouter publishes 254 tools and 1,345 skills as of 3 September 2026. ToolRouter's argument is the maintained contract per tool — schema, examples, changelog, normalized errors — not catalog size.
Can I use both?
Yes — nothing prevents an agent from holding two MCP connections. Watch the combined connect-time context cost if you do; that is what the benchmark measures.
Are Monid and ToolRouter the same category?
Broadly yes: both describe themselves in the "OpenRouter for tools" shape — one connection and one balance in front of many tool providers. Every "OpenRouter for tools" compared puts ToolRouter, Monid, ToolRoute.ai, Composio and Arcade side by side with each rival's own published figures.
Where do Monid's numbers here come from?
The Monid homepage at monid.ai, read on 5 September 2026. They are quoted, not independently verified — ToolRouter has not audited Monid's catalog or billing.
Compare more: ToolRouter vs Smithery · ToolRouter vs Composio · ToolRouter vs OpenRouter · Every "OpenRouter for tools" compared · All comparisons.